Thursday, November 19, 2009

Opt-in from a Trial to a Paid Subscription

Yes, we have listened to our users. Now your 30-day free trial subscription will not be automatically converted into a paid subscription at the end of the trail period. Although we send an email notification a week before a trail period comes to an end, it seems users may not act proactively to cancel their trail subscription. It was never our intention to mislead our esteemed users to signup for a trail subscription only to convert them into a paid one. We wanted this to be a convenient feature, should anyone decide to continue to use ScrumPad. They can continue to use the service and keep their data. However, we realize that how people can forget to cancel subscription in time and then be surprised later when they receive an invoice. We never require anyone to pay for a service that they did not use. In fact, we do not take our customer's credit card info and do not charge customers' CC automatically when payment is due. We only invoice at the end of the month after our customer used our service for the month. Customer has the option to pay or ask for waiver because they are not happy with the service that month.

So, from now on you can upgrade to a paid account anytime during your 30-day free trail period. Or, your trial account will automatically be suspended after the trail period. If you try to login after the trial has expired, you (account admin) would be prompted to explicitly agree to upgrade to a paid account. Once you agree to upgrade, you can continue to use your original account without loosing any data. You will still receive an email reminder one week before your trial account expires.

We are happy to be able to make this change. We hope there will be no confused users either.

5 comments: